In Search of the Perfect Purse

When it comes to purses, or “pocket books” as my grandmother used to call them, I am very picky. I don’t like to move all my stuff from one purse to the other every time I change my clothes. I want one for summer, one for winter, one for evening wear, and that’s about it! Last week I was watching an episode of “The Closer” and I saw it – the perfect purse. Kyra Sedgewick, aka Brenda Leigh Johnson, carries a large black leather purse/tote/briefcase and several times during an episode she rummages around in it and pulls out her cell phone, a file folder, or a candy bar.

Being a cyber shopper I naturally turned to the Internet to search for that bag. Whoa, Nelly! It seems I’m not the only woman in America who covets that handbag. There are whole blogs devoted to finding one like it. Women are going nuts for that bag. Some are nuts for Brenda Leigh’s clothing, too but I won’t go there. The general consensus among Closer fans is that the closest match can be found on www.eBags.com . It’s made by Sag Harbor and the style is Valentino. I ordered one. It didn’t cost very much (less than $50) which makes me suspicious. A good handbag is usually expensive and worth it. I’ll let you know how it works out.

Another good site for purse shopping is www.onlineshoes.com. I love the detailed descriptions and photos from every conceivable angle.

Ps. Don’t send me a lot of smart remarks about the phrase “Whoa, Nelly!”. If you’ve seen The Closer, you understand. It’s a Southern Thing.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

